Knowledge | Leadership | Advancement

The NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Implementation Science in Oncology brings together experts in the field of implementation science and oncology to enhance cancer care – accelerating the transformation of knowledge into effective practice. Our leadership team comprises respected Australian and international clinicians and researchers, all committed to improving systems of oncology care.

Meet our Lead Investigators

Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite

Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite is Founding Director of the Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Director, Centre for Healthcare Resilience and Implementation Science, and Professor of Health Systems Research, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Macquarie University.

Professor Robyn Ward

Professor Robyn Ward AM is Executive Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health, University of Sydney. She was formerly the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Acting Executive Dean of Medicine at the University of Queensland.

Professor Geoff Delaney

Professor Geoff Delaney is the Director of Cancer Services for the South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD) and an experienced Radiation Oncologist, his main areas of expertise are in breast cancer, radiation oncology, service planning and health services research. He has a PhD and an MD for research into radiation oncology. He is also a conjoint Professor for the University of NSW and University of Western Sydney.

Professor Richard Kefford

Professor Richard Kefford is Professor of Cancer Medicine, Head, Department of Clinical Medicine and Head, Cancer Clinical Program at Macquarie University, Sydney.  He is also an Honorary Professor in Medicine at the University of Sydney and Faculty Member at Melanoma Institute Australia.

Professor Ian Olver

Professor Ian Olver AM is Director, University of South Australia Cancer Research institute,  Professor of Translational Cancer Research, in the Division of Health Sciences. A renowned oncologist, cancer researcher and bioethicist his research interests are in anticancer drug studies, symptom control, bio-ethics and psycho-oncology, Ian is author of over 290 journal articles and is a regular commentator on cancer issues in Australia and internationally.

Professor Jonathan Karnon

Professor Jon Karnon is a Professor of Health Economics at the University of Adelaide. He has been undertaking applied economic evaluations of healthcare technologies and services for over 20 years. He has experience in the use of Australian health systems data to assess variation in clinical practice and inform service improvement priorities.

Professor Phil Crowe

Professor Phil Crowe obtained his Medical Degree from the University of Sydney before obtaining a PhD (D. Phil) at the University of Oxford, as a Rhodes Scholar.  He is now Professor of Surgery at Prince of Wales Hospital, University of New South Wales, Head of Department of General Surgery, and Director of the Sydney Sarcoma Unit and Surgical Oncology Research Group, at University of New South Wales.

Associate Professor Winston Liauw

Associate Professor Winston Liauw is a practicing medical oncologist and clinical pharmacologist with a master’s degrees in pharmaceutical development and public policy. His clinical practice is based around gastrointestinal cancer with a speciality in regional and intraperitoneal chemotherapy.

Professor Johanna Westbrook

Professor Johanna Westbrook is Director of the Centre for Health Systems and Safety Research, Australian Institute of Health Innovation at Macquarie University. She is internationally recognised for her research evaluating the effects of information and communication technology (ICT) in healthcare.

Professor David Currow

Professor David Currow is Chief Cancer Officer, NSW and Chief Executive Officer, Cancer Institute NSW, the NSW Government’s cancer control agency.